Laboratory Medicine in NHS Lothian is divided functionally into Blood Sciences (incorporating Haematology, Biochemistry, Blood Transfusion and specialist testing labs); Cell Sciences (which covers Bacteriology, Virology, Pathology, Cytology and Mortuary services) and Gene Science (which includes NSS funded genetics laboratories at the WGH campus).

Each functional area is operationally led by a Healthcare Science Manager.

Please click on the link to the left to access more detail about each area.