NHS Lothian Laboratories

There are four main hospital sites that within NHS Lothian.  Each of these sites contains haematology and biochemistry laboratories and some sites also have dedicated laboratories in certain sites such as pathology, genetics, BTS immunology and microbiology reference labs. All laboratories are UKAS accredited to ISO15189:2012 and are staffed with experienced and knowledgeable registered biomedical/clinical scientists, healthcare scientist associate practitioners and biomedical support workers.

The main NHS Lothian hospital sites are:
  • Royal Infirmary Edinburgh (RIE)
  • Western General Hospital (WGH)
  • St. John’s Hospitcal (SJH)
  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children (RHSC)

The laboratories within NHS Lothian include:
  • Haematology
  • Biochemistry
  • Pathology
  • Microbiology which includes:
    • Scottish Human Papillomavirus Reference Laboratory (SHPVRL)
    • Scottish Bacterial Sexually Transmitted Infections Reference Laboratory (SBSTIRL)
    • Scottish E. coli O157/VTEC Reference Laboratory
    • Scottish Mycobacteria Reference Laboratory
  • BTS Immunology Laboratory (Edinburgh & SE Scotland Blood Transfusion Service)
  • Molecular Pathology
  • Genetics (Cytogenetics and Molecular Genetics)
  • Reproductive Medicine Laboratory (Edinburgh Fertility and Reproductive Endocrine Centre)